401.639.4901

Newport County Youth Rugby Football Club

The sport of rugby has a long standing tradition of encouraging physical fitness, camaraderie, competitive spirit, and most importantly, FUN! Rugby is fast-paced, exciting, and one of the most popular team sports in the world. It is considered one of the fastest growing youth sports in the United States, and has been included in the Summer Olympics!

 

The growth of the game in the United States is at an all-time high thanks largely to its re-introduction into the Olympic Games. Athletes of all shapes and sizes, from a diverse array of competitive backgrounds, are ready to test their abilities in a new sport. Also, the epidemic of obesity among young people has parents, teachers, and administrators eagerly anticipating new and creative options for kids to pick up a ball and run with it. Island Rugby is here to help!

 

 

ISLAND RUGBY IS FUN-DAMENTAL

Our 2018 Spring/Summer schedule below is still under construction

 

 

Saturday March 17 - St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Newport, RI

 

Saturday March 24 - 4 Leafs Tournament every year in NYC – We've never had enough HS players committed this early in the season. Perhaps in the future we will plan a road trip to compete on Randles Island, in NYC!

 

Saturday March 31 - 

 

Sunday April 1 - 

 

Saturday April 7 - 

 

Sunday April 8 -

 

Saturday April 14 - Beast of the East College Tournament @The Glenn Farm in Portsmouth, RI 

 

Sunday April 15 - Seeking High School 7's and/or Middle School 7's opponents during the Beast 3 pm kick off

 

Saturday April 21 -  

 

Sunday April 22 -  

 

Saturday April 28 -

 

Sunday April 29 - 

 

Saturday May 5 - New England Rugby Football Union (NERFU) Men's & Woman's Tournament @Fort Adams 8am - 6pm

 

Sunday May 6 - Seeking High School and Middle School opponents for a 2 pm kick off during @NERFU!

 

Saturday May 12 -

 

Sunday May 13 -

 

Saturday May 19 -

 

Sunday May 20 - Derby Academy 3rd - 8th grade boys and girls @ Gaudet Middle School Athletic Field 2:30 pm kick-off 

 

Saturday May 26 - Mass HS Championship & Youth Rugby Jamboree @ Triton Regional School Byfield, MA 10 am - 3 pm 

 

Sunday May 27 - 

 

Saturday June 2 -

 

Sunday June 3 - @ Derby Academy, Hingham, MA 2:30 pm kick-off

 

Saturday June 9 -

 

Sunday June 10 - @ Metro West Boston, Time/Location TBD  

 

Saturday June 16 -

 

Sunday June 17 - 

 

Saturday June 23 - Newport RFC 7’s Tournament @Fort Adams

 

Sunday June 24 - "Frederick Henry Prince Memorial Cup" High School & Youth Island Rugby 7’s Tournament @Fort Adams

 

*Summer rugby continues until the end of July 

 

Saturday July 28 - Bay State Games in Boston ends the 2018 Youth and High School Rugby Season

*Note: Please know we are always working on scheduling matches. If you do not see your age group on some dates, no worries. It is because most other clubs do not have all age groups available. We will have plenty of rugby for everyone! 

Summer 7’s rugby is played in June & July. If you are interested in playing rugby during the summer, there will be plenty of opportunity. Please let us know if you are interested in summer rugby. Thank you!

Sign-up today or contact:

 

Chris Gray - Coach/Administrator                            Phone: 401-639-4901                                    E-mail to: d-a-d1@cox.net