401.639.4901

Newport County Youth Rugby Football Club

The sport of rugby has a long standing tradition of encouraging physical fitness, camaraderie, competitive spirit, and most importantly, FUN! Rugby is fast-paced, exciting, and one of the most popular team sports in the world. It is considered one of the fastest growing youth sports in the United States, and has been included in the Summer Olympics!

 

The growth of the game in the United States is at an all-time high thanks largely to its re-introduction into the Olympic Games. Athletes of all shapes and sizes, from a diverse array of competitive backgrounds, are ready to test their abilities in a new sport. Also, the epidemic of obesity among young people has parents, teachers, and administrators eagerly anticipating new and creative options for kids to pick up a ball and run with it. Island Rugby is here to help!

 

 

ISLAND RUGBY IS FUN-DAMENTAL

Our 2017 Spring schedule below is still under construction

 

 

Saturday March 11 – Newport St. Patrick’s Day Parade – C Gray the DJ @ O’Brien’s Pub 10am – 10pm!

 

Saturday March 18 – 4 Leafs Tournament every year in NYC – We've never had enough HS players committed this early in the season. Perhaps in the near future we can plan a road trip to compete on Randles Island, NYC!

 

 

Saturday March 25 – Open

 

Sunday April 2 – 3rd - 6th grade practice YMCA 12 - 1 pm

 

Sunday April 9 – @ Essex County Bulldogs - Amesbury Sports Park, Amesbury, MA {5th-12th grade boys}

 

Saturday April 15 – Open 

 

Sunday April 16 – Open {Easter} 

 

Saturday April 22 – Beast of the East College Tournament @ The Glenn Farm in Portsmouth, RI

 

Sunday April 23 – Essex County High School JV Boys, Varsity Boys 7's during the Beast 3 pm kick off

 

Saturday April 29 – 3rd - 8th grade boys and girls at The Irish Cultural Centre in Canton, MA v. Boston Irish Wolfhounds

 

Sunday April 30 – Open

 

Saturday May 6 – Open

 

Sunday May 7 – Open

 

Saturday May 13 – New England Rugby Football Union (NERFU) Men's/Woman's Tournament at Fort Adams 8am - 6pm

 

Sunday May 14 - Boston Irish Wolf Hounds at the Fort during NERFU {3rd - 8th grade boys and girls} MOM's Day Seeking HS opponents 1st kick off - 2:30 ish

 

Saturday May 20 – Open

 

Sunday May 21 – Derby Academy at Fort Adams {3rd - 8th grade boys and girls} seeking HS opponents 

 

Saturday May 27 – MYRO High School Championship and Youth season kick off Worcester, MA

 

Sunday May 28 – Open

 

Saturday June 3 – Open

 

Sunday June 4 – Open

 

Saturday June 10 – Open

 

Sunday June 11 – @ Wrentham, MA {3rd - 8th grade boys and girls}

 

Saturday June 17 – Open

 

Sunday June 18 – @ Derby Academy in Hingham, MA {3rd - 8th grade boys and girls} Father’s Day

 

Saturday June 24 – Newport RFC 7’s Tournament @ Fort Adams

 

Sunday June 25 – Island Rugby 7’s Tournament @ Fort Adams

 

Summer rugby continues until the end of July 

 

Saturday July 29 - Bay State Games in Boston is the end of the 2017 Youth and High School Rugby Season

*Note: Please know that I am still working on scheduling matches. If you do not see your team age group on some dates, do not panic. It is because most other teams do not have all age groups available. We will have plenty of rugby for everyone. 

The end of June starts the 4 week summer 7’s season of rugby which covers July. If you are still interested in playing rugby during in July, there will be plenty of opportunity. Please let us know if you are interested in summer rugby.

Sign-up today or contact:

 

Chris Gray - Coach/Administrator                            Phone: 401-639-4901                                    E-mail to: d-a-d1@cox.net